the npl
Home // First Team Fixtures & Results

North Ferriby FC vs Matlock Town FC

Attendance: 442 Referee: Steven Taylor (Rotherham)Date: 28 October 2023
Club North Ferriby FC

North Ferriby FC


The Dransfield Stadium

FA Trophy
Club Matlock Town FC

Matlock Town FC


Match Report


Three second half goals saw the Gladiators comfortably through to the 2nd Round of the Isuzu FA Trophy against NPL Eastern Division hosts North Ferriby on Saturday.

The Villagers were second best for much of the contest and in particular the second half when a brace from Anthony Dwyer and yet another Jonny Margetts strike gave Matlock the win their performance merited.

Manager Martin Carruthers labelled it “professional “ in his post match interview as did Dwyer, it was good to see Matlock handle a potentially tricky away tie with such ease.

The tie did not finish until 5.20 pm due to a delay when a Ferriby fan was taken ill during the first half, the players returning to the dressing room while the stricken person received medical attention. After being stretchered off the fan was later taken by ambulance to Doncaster Royal Infirmary, news emerging later that he was responding to treatment.

Carruthers originally intended to retain the starting line up which had beaten Basford in midweek, but striker Karl Demidh and midfieder Finlay Armond called in sick so there was a start for new recruit Nathan Whitehead in midfield with Alex Duhameau being handed Demidh’s number nine shirt.

Ferriby winger Danny Earl fired over the bar in the game’s first opportunity with the hosts aiming to replicate their 4-0 win over Atherton Colleries in the last round. But it soon became clear that a repeat was never on the cards as Matlock gradually took control.

A volley from Duhameau, the chance being created by Margetts was also too high before a gilt edged chance fell Matlock’s way on 14 minutes. Margetts had a one on one duel with goalkeeper Lewis Exall. He danced around Exall to shoot goalwards but Levi Tarbottan was on hand to clear off the line. John Johnston’s shot flashed inches past the back post as Matlock maintained their assault and Ioan Evans planted a header wide from a Johnston corner.

Then with 26 minutes gone came the medical emergency with the players being shepherded to the changing rooms for what turned out to be a delay of just shy of half an hour.

A scorching Dwyer effort was brilliantly tipped over by Exall as Matlock renewed their efforts to draw first blood. Margetts was well placed once again only for a Ferriby defender to find a telling block at the expense of a corner.

Would Matlock rue these missed chances? As it turned out not in the slightest.

Dwyer lifted his shot high over the bar from twenty yards following an intricate free kick move but DWYER did find the net in the 57th minute. Harry Wood released Johnston down the right and the skipper’s pin point cross was met by a powerful lunging header which gave Exall little chance of retrieving.

Six minutes later the lead was doubled as MARGETTS broke clear on the left to come inside and score with a deflected effort for his 20th goal of the season.

The tie was put firmly out of Ferriby’s reach thanks to a wonder strike by DWYER with twelve minutes remaining. There was a cheek about the way Dwyer flicked the ball up and hit a great volley from twenty yards which found the bottom corner with deadly precision.

Ferriby had a late rally but the nearest they came was when a Niall Tilsley strike deflected wide. But it was too little, too late to affect the outcome. Matlock had cruised through and made a mockery of their general away form to earn £3000 from the prize fund.

NORTH FERRIBY: 1 Lewis Exall 2 Jack Johnson 3 Josh Morrall 4 Joel Shortland 5 Niall Tilsley 6 Levi Tarbottan 7 Danny Earl 8 Harry Wallis (12 Josh Dennett 58) 9 Tom Corner 10 Josh Whiteley (15 Amil Berchil 58) 11 Danny East (16 Jamie Forrester 72) Other subs: 13 Jordan Douglas 14 McCaulay Snelgrove

MATLOCK TOWN: 1 Saul Deeney 2 George Wilkinson 3 Joe West 4 Nathan Whitehead 5 Adam Yates 6 Ioan Evans 7 John Johnston 8 Harry Wood (15 Oliver Clark 82) 9 Alex Duhameau (12 Harry Wakefield 72) 10 Jonny Margetts 11 Anthony Dwyer Other subs: 14 Nat Crofts 16 Andrew wright 17 Jamie Sharman 19 Alex Akers

REFEREE: Steven Taylor (Rotherham) ATTENDANCE: 442 BEST GLADIATOR: Anthony Dwyer